How to install VMware Tools on Engarde

Discuss installation issues/solutions for Engarde

Moderators: scrumpy, Dave, leihog

How to install VMware Tools on Engarde

Postby EvdBoogaard on Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:18 pm

Hi there,

If you're looking for a guide how to install VMware Tools on Engarde Secure Linux, than you're reading the right page :)

First of all: I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Linux, BUT I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty.
Today I've managed to build new VMware Tools drivers for Debian within half an hour (thanks to a few well documented steps that I found), but I was a little out of luck when it came to building VMware Tools for Engarde...
To be honest: I was about to lose my mind, as I've been trying to build VMware Tools from scratch for the last 3 days - almost full time! :cry:
Anyway I succeeded and present you here the steps. (To the gurus: please feel free to comment and improve this walk-thru)

Step 1: in Engarde webtool pick System --> 'SELinux Control Console' and click 'Toggle Current Mode ' and click 'Yes, disable Enforcing Mode'

Step 2: Thanks to trial and error I found out that I had to install a few packages.
- In the Engarde webtool go to: "Guardian Digital Secure Network", click module "package management",
- select: kernel-source, gcc and make (automagically kernel-header and binutils are installed)
- click install selected packages (wait until it's finished - should be less than 5 minutes)

Step 3: Go to VMware (in my case VMware Infrastructure Client), right-click on your Engarde VM and select 'Install/Upgrade VMware Tools ' (what this does is select an iso what later will be mounted)

Step 4: Open an Engarde console (NOT Putty, because you will be disconnected when you run the installation script - You can use Putty for the first few steps, you'll get a reminder to use the console when you want to run it from Putty)