Getting Activation code

Discuss general troubleshooting concerns.

Moderators: scrumpy, Dave, leihog

Getting Activation code

Postby Mr.O on Sun Mar 22, 2009 12:06 am

Hi, I am new to this operating system. I want to get an activation code and I think that the firewall that my ISP uses prevents me from registering from the servers websites. Is there a way for me to get an alternative?

Thanks in advance!
Mr. O
Mr.O

Re: Getting Activation code

Postby ryan on Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:12 pm

GDSN is just https, so if your ISP is blocking https then they are blocking everything.
ryan
Site Admin

Postby Mr.O on Tue Mar 24, 2009 4:22 pm

That is not the problem. I am running a private network and need to get an activation code by another way. This is the current network hierarchy. Isp, Router, server. On the same level as the server is the computer that I am connecting to the server. Therefore there would not be the problem with the isp blocking the https because the connection is being routed in network, not over the isp internet lines. The isp will not repeat not block a https connection because it is very necessary to the network as a whole. All I am asking is if there is an alternate way to register.

Mr. O
Mr.O

Postby ryan on Wed Mar 25, 2009 9:50 am

There is no other method to register. Given the network setup you described I see no reason why the freshly installed EnGarde would not be able to contact updates.guardiandigital.com on port 443, assuming you properly configured networking on the newly installed machine (with a valid DNS server and default gateway).
ryan
Site Admin

Postby miracle on Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:52 am

similar problem here.
I just installed EnGarde on VMWare Server. Then

1. successfully connected to the WebTool
2. clicked "Create GDSN Account"
3. and filled in the registration form