Network card not detected

Discuss general troubleshooting concerns.

Moderators: scrumpy, Dave, leihog

Network card not detected

Postby Thasaidon on Sun Oct 18, 2009 1:01 pm

Hi,

I've installed Engarde 3.0 on a Dell Latitude D500 laptop.
The internal Intel network card is detected and working ok, but the "Sweex" (SURECOM EP-428X) PCMCIA network card isn't detected.
http://www.sweex.com/en/assortiment/int ... s/LA500010
I know the card is ok, because it works in Ubuntu and Windows. However, in Ubuntu, the card is seen as a Realtek...

So my question is, how do I get this card working under Engarde?
There are linux drivers on the vendors site, and I'm not new to Linux, but I'm a complete Linux n00b when it comes to compiling drivers ;-)
http://www.sweex.com/images/artikelen/L ... _Linux.zip

If you need more info, which you probably do :) just let me know.
Thasaidon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:53 am

Re: Network card not detected

Postby Thasaidon on Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:25 pm

I'm currently running the system from an Ubuntu 8.04 LTS Live cd.
and here's what it shows on the interface.
Code: Select all
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0b:db:a7:52:03 
          inet6 addr: fe80::20b:dbff:fea7:5203/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:35 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1623 (1.5 KB)  TX bytes:5505 (5.3 KB)

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:02:44:b3:32:f1 
          inet6 addr: fe80::202:44ff:feb3:32f1/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:33 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:3291 (3.2 KB)  TX bytes:468 (468.0 B)
          Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe000

eth0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0b:db:a7:52:03 
          inet addr:169.254.5.14  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:10928 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10928 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:546592 (533.7 KB)  TX bytes:546592 (533.7 KB)

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ dmesg |grep eth
[   30.388484] e100: eth0: e100_probe: addr 0xfcfff000, irq 11, MAC addr 00:0b:db:a7:52:03
[   31.090893] Driver 'sd' needs updating - please use bus_type methods
[   31.091148]  sda:<4>Driver 'sr' needs updating - please use bus_type methods
[  115.434786] eth1: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xe000, 00:02:44:b3:32:f1, IRQ 11
[  115.434790] eth1:  Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8139C'
[  130.231017] e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
[  130.258587] eth1: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[  320.991861] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
[  148.497027] eth1: no IPv6 routers present
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ lsmod |grep 8139
8139cp                 24704  0
8139too                27520  0
mii                     6400  3 8139cp,8139too,e100
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

It seems Ubuntu is seeing the card as a Realtek and using either the 8139cp or 8130too module.
Thasaidon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:53 am

Re: Network card not detected

Postby Thasaidon on Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:50 pm

I tried adding the module by adding this:
Code: Select all
alias eth1 8139too
in the /etc/modprobe.conf.
and then running the depmod -a command.
but when trying to run the command, I get the following errors...
Code: Select all
[root@kerberos User]# depmod -a
WARNING: Couldn't open directory /lib/modules/2.6.27-1: Permission denied
FATAL: Could not open /lib/modules/2.6.27-1/modules.dep.temp for writing: Permission denied
[root@kerberos User]# su
Password:
Your default context is root:staff_r:staff_t.

Do you want to choose a different one? [n]
[root@kerberos User]# depmod -a
WARNING: Couldn't open directory /lib/modules/2.6.27-1: Permission denied
FATAL: Could not open /lib/modules/2.6.27-1/modules.dep.temp for writing: Permission denied
[root@kerberos User]#


I also tried loading the module with modprobe 8139too which shows the module is loaded.
Code: Select all
[root@kerberos User]# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
8139too                26656  0
tun                    15244  0
bitrev                  5768  2 8139too,tun
crc32                   7816  2 8139too,tun
e100                   37408  0
mii                     8840  2 8139too,e100
[root@kerberos User]#

but when I try to bring the interface up, I get this:
Code: Select all
[root@kerberos User]# ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.250 up
No support for INET on this system.
[root@kerberos User]#


When I reboot the system, modeprobe 8139too and try again, I get this:
Code: Select all
[root@kerberos User]# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
tun                    15244  0
bitrev                  5768  1 tun
crc32                   7816  1 tun
e100                   37408  0
mii                     8840  1 e100
[root@kerberos User]# modprobe 8139too
[root@kerberos User]# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
8139too                26656  0
tun                    15244  0
bitrev                  5768  2 8139too,tun
crc32                   7816  2 8139too,tun
e100                   37408  0
mii                     8840  2 8139too,e100
[root@kerberos User]# ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.250 up
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth1: unknown interface: No such device
eth1: unknown interface: No such device
[root@kerberos User]#


So the 1st time I got the message No support for INET on this system. but the second time I got this eth1: unknown interface: No such device. Where does this difference come from?
Thasaidon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:53 am

Re: Network card not detected

Postby Dave on Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:21 pm

Thasaidon wrote:I tried adding the module by adding this:
Code: Select all
alias eth1 8139too
in the /etc/modprobe.conf.
and then running the depmod -a command.
but when trying to run the command, I get the following errors...
Code: Select all
[root@kerberos User]# depmod -a
WARNING: Couldn't open directory /lib/modules/2.6.27-1: Permission denied
FATAL: Could not open /lib/modules/2.6.27-1/modules.dep.temp for writing: Permission denied
[root@kerberos User]# su
Password:
Your default context is root:staff_r:staff_t.
[/quote]
You probably need to disable SELinux to be able to write to that directory. Read the HOWTO on the wiki.

[quote]
[root@kerberos User]# ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.250 up
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth1: unknown interface: No such device
eth1: unknown interface: No such device
[root@kerberos User]#



It looks like it loaded the module, but it's either the wrong module, or some other module is missing that is preventing the card from being detected properly. Find out what modules you need using the Ubuntu boot disk.

Really the issue here is that EnGarde isn't really designed to be used on a laptop. It's intended for a server that's going to be running all the time.

Best regards,
Dave
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:06 pm

Re: Network card not detected

Postby Thasaidon on Tue Oct 20, 2009 5:16 am

Really the issue here is that EnGarde isn't really designed to be used on a laptop. It's intended for a server that's going to be running all the time.

I know, but I don't have that much room for a "server" in my storage closet where everything is located. And I've been running Linux router software on laptops 24/7 for quit a while now, without problems. I'm just trying to get this distro running to see if I can implement it in my test environment.

It looks like it loaded the module, but it's either the wrong module, or some other module is missing that is preventing the card from being detected properly. Find out what modules you need using the Ubuntu boot disk.

As for the modules, I also tried with the 8139cp module, but that didn't work either.
So could it be the pcmcia module which seems not to be loaded? If so, does Engarde contain a pcmcia module?

btw...
I rebooted the machine and the modules weren't loaded. How do I make Engarde load these modules during startup?
I added the modules in the /etc/modprobe.conf file like described here:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1216&p=4099&hilit=load+module#p4099
but when I try to run depmod -a I get a permission denied
Code: Select all
[root@kerberos User]# depmod -a
bash: /sbin/depmod: Permission denied
[root@kerberos User]#


Also, I tried loading some modules I thought would help getting the card to work, but it seems Engarde doesn't know the pcmcia modules.
Code: Select all
[User@kerberos ~]$ su
Password:
[root@kerberos User]# modprobe pcmcia_core
[root@kerberos User]# modprobe pcmcia
[root@kerberos User]# modprobe pci_hotplug
[root@kerberos User]# modprobe 8139too
[root@kerberos User]# modprobe 8139cp
[root@kerberos User]#
[root@kerberos User]# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
8139cp                 23184  0
8139too                26656  0
bitrev                  5768  2 8139cp,8139too
crc32                   7816  2 8139cp,8139too
pci_hotplug            30780  0
e100                   37408  0
mii                     8840  3 8139cp,8139too,e100
[root@kerberos User]#


I'd really like to get this distro to work, because I find they ease of installing and configuring with the webinterface amazingly good.
And if all works ok in my test environment, I'm thinking of deploying it in other areas too.
Thasaidon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:53 am

Re: Network card not detected

Postby Dave on Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:38 pm

Thasaidon wrote:As for the modules, I also tried with the 8139cp module, but that didn't work either.
So could it be the pcmcia module which seems not to be loaded? If so, does Engarde contain a pcmcia module?
No, it does not contain the hotplug support and pcmcia drivers. If you'd like, you can find the info
here:

http://kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/kerne ... howto.html

You might also be able to make an existing Fedora package work, but it may require a kernel update too.
I was hoping there was an existing pcmcia package built, but alas, there does not seem to be.

To go much further, you will likely have to disable SELinux at the least, and install the development tools
to build some packages. This is probably the reason for your "Permission Denied" messages.
I'd really like to get this distro to work, because I find they ease of installing and configuring with the webinterface amazingly good.
And if all works ok in my test environment, I'm thinking of deploying it in other areas too.

Sure appreciate the nice words. We've worked quite hard on the development of the WebTool environment.

If you're interested in pursuing this, let me know, and give me an idea if you're comfortable with a compiler and
we can work on it together.

Regards,
Dave
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:06 pm

Re: Network card not detected

Postby Thasaidon on Sat Oct 24, 2009 2:18 pm

Dave wrote:No, it does not contain the hotplug support and pcmcia drivers. If you'd like, you can find the info
here:
http://kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/kerne ... howto.html

Thanx I'll have a look at it later tonight.

You might also be able to make an existing Fedora package work, but it may require a kernel update too.
I was hoping there was an existing pcmcia package built, but alas, there does not seem to be.

Am I correct in assuming Engarde is based on Fedora then? If so, then there will probably already be a pcmcia package?

To go much further, you will likely have to disable SELinux at the least, and install the development tools
to build some packages. This is probably the reason for your "Permission Denied" messages.

Yup, I disabled SELinux after my last post and I didn't get any "permission denied" errors anymore.

Sure appreciate the nice words. We've worked quite hard on the development of the WebTool environment.

Well it's true, Engarde is one of the most easy to setup via the webinterface. And I've seen a few distro's in my time ;)

If you're interested in pursuing this, let me know, and give me an idea if you're comfortable with a compiler and
we can work on it together
Well I would like to get it running on the laptop. I'm not new to Linux, but I never compiled anything in my life. However, I am willing to try ;-)
Personally I think this would be a nice addition to Engarde, because I know other people would like to run a router/firewall/server on a laptop too.

Thanx for the help so far.
Thasaidon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:53 am

Re: Network card not detected

Postby Dave on Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:42 pm

If you're interested in pursuing this, let me know, and give me an idea if you're comfortable with a compiler and
we can work on it together
Well I would like to get it running on the laptop. I'm not new to Linux, but I never compiled anything in my life. However, I am willing to try ;-) Personally I think this would be a nice addition to Engarde, because I know other people would like to run a router/firewall/server on a laptop too.[/quote]

There's an updated kernel on its way hopefully in the next few days. This should have the pcmcia drivers in it.

Regards,
Dave
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:06 pm

Re: Network card not detected

Postby Thasaidon on Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:34 pm

Dave wrote:There's an updated kernel on its way hopefully in the next few days. This should have the pcmcia drivers in it.

Regards,
Dave

WOW! (and I don't mean World of Warcraft :D )
That sounds great. I take it this kernel update can be run via the update function in the webinterface?
Thasaidon
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:53 am


Return to General Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron