Trouble connecting to https://192.168.10.100:1023

Discuss general troubleshooting concerns.

Moderators: scrumpy, Dave, leihog

Trouble connecting to https://192.168.10.100:1023

Postby electronicsfreak on Sun Jul 25, 2010 12:52 am

I have tried this via network and via crossover cable between just the two computers. I have read the manuals I have found on this. I have even tried doing the apt-get update that I found doing some searching on this problem. When I do, I get the GDSN returned error code -2

I have installed this over and over trying to figure out what I am doing wrong. When it asked for dns, I have tried the ones the router show from our isp, and that didn't work. So I then tried the default ip to access the router. That did not work either. I realize I am new to linux, and these probably come across as dumb questions, but I need help. I am trying to get this setup so I can work on learning more code. However, I can not find anything online that has helped. I have searched and searched, but with no luck. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks
electronicsfreak
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 6:46 pm

Re: Trouble connecting to https://192.168.10.100:1023

Postby Dave on Mon Jul 26, 2010 11:29 am

*beep* wrote:I have tried this via network and via crossover cable between just the two computers. I have read the manuals I have found on this. I have even tried doing the apt-get update that I found doing some searching on this problem. When I do, I get the GDSN returned error code -2

If you use a crossover cable, you won't be able to connect to the GDSN, obviously. Where did you find a reference to that?

I have installed this over and over trying to figure out what I am doing wrong. When it asked for dns, I have tried the ones the router show from our isp, and that didn't work. So I then tried the default ip to access the router. That did not work either. I realize I am new to linux, and these probably come across as dumb questions, but I need help. I am trying to get this setup so I can work on learning more code. However, I can not find anything online that has helped. I have searched and searched, but with no luck. What am I doing wrong?


You probably should be using the DNS server given to your router. What DNS server do other PCs on the network use?

You should be able to use ALT-F2 to change to another console, and do something like "nslookup google.com". Make sure your router is translating the internal IP of your EnGarde server to the public IP given to you by your service provider.

Regards,
Dave
Dave
Site Admin
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:06 pm


Return to General Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron