Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Discuss installation issues/solutions for Engarde

Moderators: scrumpy, Dave, leihog

Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Postby masmith on Thu Oct 05, 2006 5:02 pm

What is the proceedure for installing a NIC if the system did not autodetect?
masmith
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:47 pm

RE: Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Postby masmith on Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:12 pm

Determined this is a NetExtreme II card and the bnx2.ko module should work right? How can I enable it?
masmith
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:47 pm

RE: Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Postby masmith on Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:34 pm

I mofified the interfaces file to add IP address, mask and gateway then
typed
modprobe bnx2
then
ifup eth0
I can get to the website now.
How can i get those setting to stick so I dont have to load them each time.
masmith
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:47 pm

RE: Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Postby eric on Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:08 am

masmith,

In order to get those settings to stick, you need to add the appropriate lines to /etc/modprobe.conf file:
Code: Select all
# Network module
bnx2

Next you need to ensure that you have something similar to the following entry in your /etc/network/interfaces file:
Code: Select all
iface eth0 inet static
  address 192.168.1.5
  netmask 255.255.255.0
  network 192.168.1.1
  broadcast 192.168.1.255
  up route add default gw 192.168.1.1

Obviously the IP addresses should match your setup. The last line beginning with 'up ...' replaces the need for you to type the ifup eth0.

Eric
eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:15 am
Location: New Jersey, USA

RE: Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Postby masmith on Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:20 pm

I addes bnx2 as you suggested.
My interfaces file was already setup correctly.
I rebooted the server and eth0 did not come up.

I added "modprobe bnx2" to the beginning of the
/etc/init.d/network script and the interface comes up after boot.

humm
masmith
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:47 pm

RE: Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Postby eric on Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:14 pm

masmith,

That works because you are adding the module to the init scripts. That isn't the right place for it. Did the module get loaded and eth0 didn't come up or did the module not get loaded and thus eth0 didn't come up?

Eric
eric
Site Admin
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 11:15 am
Location: New Jersey, USA

RE: Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Postby masmith on Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:41 pm

I will remove the entry and reboot to see if the module is loaded.
masmith
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:47 pm

RE: Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Postby masmith on Mon Oct 09, 2006 5:18 pm

bnx2 driver not present after reboot
when bnx2 is listed in modprobe.conf I also get an error when I manually run "modprobe bnx2". If I remove the line it is ok and I can ifup eth0.
masmith
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:47 pm

Re: RE: Dell Broadcom NetExtreme for PE1950 not supported?

Postby ryan on Tue Oct 10, 2006 10:33 am

This is WRONG:

eric wrote:In order to get those settings to stick, you need to add the appropriate lines to /etc/modprobe.conf file:
Code: Select all
# Network module
bnx2

You need to add the following line to /etc/modprobe.conf:
Code: Select all
alias eth0 bnx2

Then run "depmod -a". Do this all as sysadm_r.

-r
ryan
Site Admin
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:15 am
Location: Allendale, NJ


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron